It’s not Blurry any more… and a Couple of Blog Awards

It started getting blurry a while back. Yeah… old age can bring great misery if you don’t smack it on the back, sit it down, pour it a nice stiff Scotch on the rocks and make it your best bud… Or at least your drinking companion till the bottles don’t run dry ;-)

I have presbyopia. Nothing to be alarmed by. It’s just one of those things that guarantees you admittance into the 40+ league of which I’m a proud member. It sort of says, “Yup, you’re here, like it or not… so suck it up and put those darn glasses on a cord around your neck please”.

I started wearing reading glasses about a year and a half ago, more off than on and suffered the consequences of not having them around my neck when I’ve needed them most. I read a lot and my laptop works as office, library and entertainment centre rolled into one on most days. Then one morning the old glasses stopped working like they were meant to. The distance between the screen and my eyes crept up to 30 inches or more and started increasing steadily. The font on my phone was set to max and was still a blur. I’d wake up, brush my teeth, fix my coffee, and on days when I did get the newspaper pick it up, and just look at the headlines and the pictures. Not that I was missing much by not going through the fine print anyway… So I did away with the morning paper.

But there was still the laptop to negotiate, and I couldn’t do away with it. So I hauled myself off to the ophthalmologist for a check-up and yeah, no surprises there, my number had increased. Now I have new glasses and with them on, the writing on the screen’s pretty clear. The doctor did add that I have great distance vision (for someone my age) and absolutely no other issues with my eyes. So my glasses are perched halfway down my nose as I write this, the frames a dark sap green.

Which brings me to another thing I’ve been putting off for ages… passing on Blog Awards that my fellow bloggers have been generous enough to nominate me for. In my defence I guess I could say that I’ve been in a state of flux over the last few months, that I’ve been travelling and that I simply haven’t had the time. But I shouldn’t procrastinate any longer. After all I owe it to the kind people out there who’ve nominated me to pay it forward at the very least.

And now on to the first thing about Blog Awards which is thanking the Bloggers who’ve nominated me and linking back to their sites. So I’d like to thank Kate from http://thecosycreative.wordpress.com/ for her Easter surprise when she nominated me for the Kreativ Blogger Award last month.

And Jen from http://lovefoodcookfood.com/ who nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award also in April.

 

Thanks Kate and Jen for your thoughtful gifts :-)

Now… to be honest I’m a bit confused about the rules of the Kreativ Blogger Award since I couldn’t find them on Kate’s blog… and that just means one thing. Ditch the rules and enjoy the award, which is precisely what I’m going to do, and pass it on to a few great blogs that I’ve had the good fortune of visiting.

Oh…by the way… there should and would have been more nominees per award, but I’ve not been active with follows, something I hope to remedy soon. But I’d rather not procrastinate any longer, these awards are just itching to go out. So in the spirit of paying it forward, I’ll nominate three blogs per award.

And they are -

For the Kreativ Blogger Award -

1.http://arignagardener.wordpress.com/

2. http://keepinitkind.com/

3. http://whataboutthepie.wordpress.com/

And the nominees for the Versatile Blogger Award are -

1. http://stirandstitch.wordpress.com/

2. http://perisspiceladle.com/

3. http://filingawaycupcakes.wordpress.com/

Do drop by all these incredible blogs… They are well worth not just a visit… but a ‘Follow’ as well, if you aren’t already following them.

Have a great weekend… and yeah I suppose I ought to try knitting myself a nice, happy, multicoloured cord for my glasses just so that I manage to keep my number in check. I doubt the binocular look would be flattering… not on me.

Have got to learn to knit first ;-)

21 thoughts on “It’s not Blurry any more… and a Couple of Blog Awards

  1. Averil, glad I found your site, the name is so catchy and cool!

    Thank you so much for nominating me for the award, its always such a great feeling to be recognized by a fellow blogger, especially one like you, with such interesting posts and a great site.

  2. Hehe I ditched the rules too, it was getting too complicated so I just made it up, bit naughty of me but the person who’d nominated me did the same :) Well done on your award! xx

  3. Nice to have you back! Sorry about the blurriness – but at least you’ve got a new pair of glasses to help! I’ve been blind as a bat since the 4th grade and would be hopeless without contact lenses. Soon I’ll need bifocals, I fear…Congratulations on the awards!

Go on! Let me know what you think.

