Cupcake Tales 1

You remember that rhyme you learned when you were little? The one that went….

        Pat-a-cake, pat-a-cake, baker’s man.

        Pat-a-cake, pat-a-cake, baker’s man.

        Bake me a cake as fast as you can;

        Pat it and prick it and mark it with B,

        Put it in the oven for baby and me.

… I do!

I love cupcakes but I’m not a huge fan of the overly sweet offerings that the neighbourhood patisserie brings out… and then I’m also partial to the odd splash of dark rum and the occasional aged Scotch whiskey… in my cakes of course… not forgetting all that wonderful seasonal fruit that we get here in Mumbai… which sadly gets reduced to a few dubiously bright green slices of kiwi fruit and something that looks like canned mango sitting atop white iced cakes in the display windows of cake shops.

This page is dedicated to all those terribly dry and god-awful cakes I’ve had the misfortune to have eaten at some point in my life and then and in gratitude to all those nameless and some known cake makers who have turned out lip-smackingly moist and delicious offerings that made me hunger for more and kindled in me the desire to turn on my oven, cream butter n sugar n eggs, toss in the flour and whatever else catches my fancy, put on my coffee maker, sit those delicious mouthfuls of yumminess on the rack to cool… pour myself a huge mug of steaming hot coffee…. curl up with a book and depending on whether I have the patience or the desire to glaze or frost them, and eat them later…. a nice cupcake!

That’s Life!

Go on! Let me know what you think.

