Four Seed Rye Sourdough Knots

I’m on a Rye Bread trip. I love the taste, the texture and the fact that it’s so darn nutritious, I almost don’t feel guilty scarfing down an entire loaf.

This time however I decided to make rolls and I must say that reading Danya’s (edible substance’s) post on the Chilli and Cheese Sourdough Baps that she and her sister Vered (EatNowTalkLater) made recently, inspired me to try and make these Sourdough Knotted Rolls. Here’s a huge thank you for the inspiration girls!

Unfortunately though, here in Mumbai you don’t get ready rye sour, so I hunted around till I came across a nice and easy recipe from ‘thebarefootkitchenwitch‘. Now the barefoot kitchen witch’s recipe for rye sour called for onions, yeast, caraway seeds, rye flour and water. I made half the quantity mentioned in the original recipe, letting it stand for over 24 hours to develop that nice sour tang. So a big shout goes out to ‘The Barefoot Kitchen Witch’ for her lovely recipe.

And since I love seed bread (and you’ve probably figured that out by now) I decided to go the whole hog. Putting in white sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, caraway seeds and poppy seeds.

Here are my ‘Four Seed Rye Sourdough Knots’. I got a dozen (that’s twelve rolls and not a baker’s dozen) from the ingredients that I put in.

Ingredients for the Rolls –

1 1/2 cups rye sour

1 teaspoon sugar

1 1/2 teaspoon salt

12gms fresh yeast

2 3/4 cups of flour (extra for dusting or kneading as required)

2 tablespoons sunflower seeds

2 tablespoons white sesame seeds

2 tablespoons caraway seeds

1 tablespoon poppy seeds (+ extra for sprinkling)

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/4 cup warm water

1 egg – beaten

* (1 tablespoon honey + 1 tablespoon olive oil) (optional)

I’m still respectfully wary of yeast, and approach it the usual way… with warm water, sugar and fingers crossed. Before moving on to toast the seeds to bring out their nuttiness. Letting them cool completely before putting them into a bowl and reserving them for later.

Then measured out the flour and salt into a large mixing bowl, adding in the yeast and the olive oil, combining the ingredients partially, before stirring in the rye sour, and the mixed seeds into the yeasty flour mix.

Knead the mix well for about 8 – 10 minutes until a smooth dough is formed. If required, and only if the dough is too sticky, add in a sprinkling of extra dough, a little at a time, being extremely careful not to add in too much.

Leave the dough to prove in a greased bowl covered with cling film for about an hour and a half to two hours.

Once the dough has doubled, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface, knock it back, and knead again. rolling it out into a thick log, which you can then cut.

I got about 12 average size pieces.

Roll out each piece into a thick cord and loop around to shape the rolls into knots.Place the rolls onto parchment paper lined trays and leave to prove again for about 30 minutes till nicely puffed up.

Meanwhile preheat the oven to 210 degrees C for about 20 minutes.

I had initially planned on brushing the tops of the rolls with an egg wash before sprinkling on some poppy seeds, but I also wanted to give some to my brother, and he suffers from an egg allergy. Even the slightest trace has him in the ER… You can well imagine my sister and I having a blast as kids, polishing off all the cakes and other eggy treats he couldn’t lay his hands on. But that was a long long time ago and I’m all grown up… Oh yes I am! So I decided to brush his half of the rolls with a mix of honey and olive oil, before sprinkling on the toasted poppy seeds.

I brushed the other half of the rolls with the egg wash, and sprinkled on the poppy seeds.

The honey and olive oil brushed rolls were baked first, for about 25 – 30 minutes. And kept carefully aside when they were done. Far, far away from the egg wash brushed rolls, which followed them into the oven.

Both the batches turned out great… and tasted amazingly good.

The rolls were delicious fresh off the oven, with a pat of butter.

And I had one the next day for brunch, with a fluffy spring onion, sun-dried tomato and Parmesan omelet with some grilled tomatoes on the side.

And the Bread Adventures continue….

Go on! Let me know what you think.

