Date and Pistachio Soft Crumb Cookies

Don’t you love chewy cakey cookies. I’m talking soft crumb, the sort that straddles the best of bake worlds. Part cake, part cookie. Yum!

I’ve been dreaming chewy cookies for a couple of days now and then I saw these packets of dates at the supermarket, and knew I had a recipe on the make.

Now speaking of dates, an acquaintance from Iran once gave me a box of fresh dates, with instruction to eat them quick.They were so fresh, she was afraid they wouldn’t last the Mumbai summer. Oh, I remember those dates, delicious and rich, I was tempted to eat the whole lot, and then I shared them around. I’d like to think the Gods of plenty have and will continue to smile down upon me for that good deed. If you ate those dates, you’d know what I was talking about.

But these dates were packaged, Middle Eastern, Omani dates… soft, black, pitted and then vacuum sealed to preserve their goodness. And perfect for that bag of pistachios I had sitting in my pantry.

And here they are, my tribute to things Eastern… To black dates and lovely salted, green pistachios in their shells. To clean and wholesome flavours. And to soft crumb cookies

Date and Pistachio Cookies

The best part about this recipe is that you can bake the amount you want, when you want. Then freeze the rest of the cookie dough, conveniently and compactly cling wrapped.

Don’t you love the person who invented cling wrap?

And no… it wasn’t invented by the Klingons.

To make the cookie dough you’ll need –

1/2 cup butter (+ 1 heaped tablespoonful)

1/2 cup powdered sugar (white)

2 tablespoons packed dark brown sugar (you could use more if you like it sweeter)

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon powder

1 1/4 cup All Purpose Flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup dates (chopped)

1/2 cup shelled and chopped salted pistachios

After kneading the dough, shape it into a log, wrap it in cling film and refrigerate the dough for 4 to 6 hours or overnight.

The cookie dough
Kling-ing-on

When you’re ready to bake, preheat your oven to 220 degrees C. Remove the log of dough from the fridge, let it thaw for 5 minutes and slice the log into 1/4″ rounds. Place the rounds on a parchment lined baking tray 2″ apart, and bake them for 15 – 18 minutes at 190 degrees.

Cool the cookies on the baking tray for 10 – 15 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely. 

Pour yourself a cup of coffee, grab a cookie or two.. or three and bite into luxurious goodness.

And yeah! Share at your own risk.

Stashed away for the midnight munchies...

16 thoughts on “Date and Pistachio Soft Crumb Cookies

  1. I love dates and I love pistachios, so there’s no doubt in my mind I’d like these cookies. I don’t think I’ve seen this flavour combo before — would love to give it a try. The way you describe the texture, they sound a bit like hermit cookies.

    • Never had a hermit cookie… should look ’em up. Do they come with long beards? Maybe they’re just elusive, hiding, in seclusion 😉 Just kidding. I should seriously look em up. I made a second batch n cut it thinner and those took just 12 – 15 minutes in the oven.

  2. Wow these look sensational – what a creative and delicious combination! One thing, those cookies will not last at my place 😀
    Thanks and great blog!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Chocolate Malted Malteser Cookies

  3. these look amazing, i love dates!! can’t wait to try them!
    i saw your blog from the Leibster blog award from, Choc Chip Uru – Go Bake Yourself, i and thought i must check your blog out, and i love it 🙂 i would like to pass on aswell that i would like to award you again with the Liebster Blog Award from myself, http://afoodiesvoyage.wordpress.com/2012/02/10/lunchtime-with-the-veggie-deluxe-sandwich, that’s the link and im just finishing the post

    Congratulations!! You deserve it, i love the blog 🙂

    • Thanks so much Beccy for the award and for your lovely words 🙂 I’m going to have a glass of wine to celebrate after the painters (having my house painted) finish their work for the day and leave.

      Thanks again.

  4. Hi! Will totally use this recipe!!!
    Question: the powdered sugar on your recipe, is it the same as icing sugar? Or just plain white sugar? Got confused there cuz i’ve never made cookies with powdered sugar before… So hoping to get a replu from uou soon! Can’t wait o make them!😄

    • Hi… Powdered sugar is caster sugar (a slightly ground version of granulated white sugar. Do not over grind your granulated sugar. One or two short pulses of the grinder ought to give you a good result) … Do Not Use icing sugar 🙂

Go on! Let me know what you think.

