Dust, Paint, Basic Dining and a 2nd Liebster

I’m having my house painted which means that my kitchen is not just out of commission, it’s out of bounds. But this is India improved, so what used to be a 25 day job, 10 years ago, has thankfully come down to 15, give or take a couple.

I’m hedging my bets on give by-the-way, with a silent prayer to the good lord of the kitchen. Withdrawal symptoms can be a female dog with a bad attitude. (Gee Ma, why did you have to fine us every-time we used a cuss word when we were little. It’s cramped my vocabulary for life, not to mention that I’m compelled to use six words when one succinctly stated one would have done the job most effectively.

Mothers!

My house is coated in a fine powdery dust from all the scraping, not to mention that awful smell of primer that goes on to the walls, getting your throat all itchy. Thank heavens for Hot Toddy, glugged by the tiny mug-full every evening, and big airy windows that send in gusts of cool breeze. The only down side to all that lovely breeze being corners, not to forget the appliances and other little things the infernal dust manages to find its way into, despite being covered. I’ve learned that tarpaulin, plastic sheeting and newspaper, howsoever lavishly applied, offer no protection against dust. Besides, even if you do a thorough job of cleaning, you never manage to catch all of it. The painters who clean up after their work is done for the day don’t, so I’m left vaccuming and mopping the floors twice over when they’ve left.

But I shouldn’t complain too much. I’ve had to step on their tails a bit, but they’re on point now.

Mother trained me well.

Well worn = Experience?… Hopefully

But having a kitchen out of bounds means that I’m compelled to eat take out at lunch and dinner, until my body finally rebelled and I walked out on auto-pilot down to the local veggie vendor and got myself some basic supplies. I had left out a tiny pan for frying eggs, and one saucepan along with a wooden spatula… everything else boxed away safely against that darn dust. The saucepan I used to par-boil the kernels of corn, before tossing the corn with a little olive oil, a knob of butter, some garlic and two chopped green chillies (de-seeded). Adding in the spinach, cabbage and tomato (I removed the pulpy innards ;-)) and chopping them into largish chunks, before finishing it off with some pan-fried pieces of tofu, and a sprinkling of sea salt… all in my tiny egg frying pan.

Reminded me of camp way, way back when.

A simple and light dinner for one, packed with fresh veggies and a good protein fix from all that yummy tofu.

Fresh n Basic Cooking with Crunch

How’s that for basic, fresh, wholesome and good food.

But it isn’t just the food I’m grateful for, I’ve also got to thank Beccy from A Foodies Voyage for honouring me with a 2nd Liebster Blog Award.

My mug of hot toddy runneth over and falleth to the floor, which means more cleaning ;-(… but I’m truly honoured for the mention Beccy and here’s a ‘Thank You’ coming your way with a basketful of virtual baked goodies ;-).

And now in the tradition of the Liebster Awards here are the rules…

1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog. (√ check)

2. Link back to the blogger who presented the award to you. (√ check)

3. Copy and paste the blog award on your blog. (√ check)

4. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 5 (or 3) blogs of 200 followers or less. (√ check… I’m passing it on to 3)

5. Let them know they have been chosen by leaving a comment at their blog… (shall do so when I finish this post. First things first… right?)

I’ve got to confess that it isn’t just my stomach that’s been rebelling since the painting started, my typing fingers are a bit stiff (I’m a two finger typist/computer user), but I’m not one to look a gift horse in the mouth and having received it shall pass it on post-haste (not exactly this time around) lest the luck of the Trojans befalls me 😉

So I shall attempt to fulfil my blogging duty and pass on this award to –

1. Jillian from Whisky Drinkin’ Chimney Sweep whose blog and recipes I love… and have got to try (and I mean every single one of them yummies).

2. delicio8 who is a self confessed bad-ass… don’t believe me? Check out her blog, where she admits that she’s ‘bad to the bone and sweet to the tooth’. Now that’s a person I identify with.

3. Angela or Los Angelas (her blog moniker) as she’s also called from Up close in my world, who puts together a real treat in her photo n food blog, while her cat mews in appreciation.

These are my three chosen blogs, amidst the scores of other fantastic blogs I’ve been so very lucky to read, follow and adore. I wish them all, and these three blogs in particular the very best till I return to my kitchen, and life as I would like it to be.

So here’s the night-sky from my window, with the stars twinkling…

twinkle… twinkle…

Have a fabulous weekend… and see you soon.

13 thoughts on “Dust, Paint, Basic Dining and a 2nd Liebster

  1. Thank you so much! I sure hope your kitchen turns out wonderfully and soon! Oh and your mom was just trying to expand your vocabulary, to make you be creative with your curses. 😉

  2. Great post… But having lived in that part of the world for so long we’ve only seen a tiny part of what you’re experiencing with the painting!! There are always the funny and exasperating stories of the workmen who have effectively taken over your space and the inevitable miscommunication that happens…so I want to hear more!

    • Oh yes, having lived in this part of the world you know what to expect. But I am one of those hopeless optimists… even though they’ve slipped a couple of days behind schedule.

  3. Hai Averil,
    wow, I’m so honored! I’m already happy with your kind words and always happy that people enjoy reading my stuff and follow my blog, but that you nominate me for this award… I’m blushing 🙂 Thank you very much!!
    Angela

  4. Hey Averil, thank you so much for this award! I saw it when I you awarded this to me, and naturally I was honored and was planning some blog space on this, but then some unfortunate happened, which caused me to take a blog break.
    But I am already working on it, and I’m still very thankful!! 🙂

Go on! Let me know what you think.

