Mocha Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookies with Candied Ginger…. and a Blog Award

I made it! 

Day 3 of my Cookie Weekend and I’m happy to be actually posting three recipes on the trot.

I love oatmeal, and I love chocolate… chunks, and then I went shopping and saw a bag of candied ginger, and my final cookie for this weekend took shape.

I’m also a huge coffee drinker, and no I don’t do decaf. Thankfully my coffee intake has reduced drastically from the time when I was in my 20s and used to average between 6 to 8 cups on any given day, most of it instant. And then I quit that line of work and hit the meditation trail for a while and my coffee drinking went down to nothing, though I did occasionally have a nice mugful every now and then. I’m up to around 2 to 3 cups a day now, at times grinding my own coffee, at times sampling blends I pick up and at times good old Nescafé for that instant buzz. A combination of instant and freshly ground coffee.

So coffee it was going to be. A nice mocha-chocolata melange. Nothing brings chocolate to life more than coffee does, more so when it’s spiked with a bit of rum.

Good stuff eh?

So here it is –

The Mocha Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookie with Candied Ginger

1 1/4 cups instant oats

1/3 cup A.P. Flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of salt

1 medium sized egg

1/2 cup butter (at room temperature)

1/2 cup packed demerara sugar (+ extra for sprinkling on cookies b4 baking)

3/4 cup chocolate chunks (I used a little more)

3 heaped tablespoons candied ginger (julienned)

Juice of 1/2 an orange

2 heaped teaspoons instant coffee

2 tablespoons dark rum

1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon powder

Pinch of clove powder

Start by creaming the butter and sugar, then add the egg and mix well. Meanwhile mix the coffee with the rum, the orange juice and the spices and let it sit covered for a while. Sieve the flour with the baking soda, add the oats and the salt and fold it all in till well mixed. Add the oat and flour mix to the butter-sugar-egg mix.

Now mix in the coffee-rum-orange juice to the batter, and finally fold in the chocolate chunks (be careful to separate them so they don’t clump together) and the candied ginger.

Refrigerate the mix till you are ready to use. It’s rather hot and humid now so I kept popping the bowl back into the fridge after every batch went into the oven. I used a large ice-cream scoop so the cookies turned out quite large. Sprinkle the cookies with some extra sugar before baking and bake them in a pre-heated oven at 160 degrees C for 20 minutes, turning the tray at least once during the process, till the bottom of the cookies turns brown.

Let them cool completely on the trays before transferring them to your cooling racks.

Decadent!

And on to the Part 2 of this post…

And the Fabulous Blogger Award that was passed on to me by the incredibly talented Ramona from http://curryandcomfort.blogspot.in/ way back in February.

 

Somehow the bit on news either got into the spam dock or went awry in the midst of house-painting and those internet problems I’ve been yammerin’ on about for the last three months. Ramona’s blog is a real treasure trove and you’ve simply got to pay it a visit, if you haven’t already. 

And in the tradition of passing on Awards, I would like to nominate –

Jenn and Sethhttp://hskillet.blogspot.in/

Joshi Daniel … http://joshidaniel.com/

Vered Simonshttp://eatnowtalklater.wordpress.com/

Jen Duncanhttp://lovefoodcookfood.com/ 

and…

http://bellacorea.wordpress.com/

Do check out their blogs because they are all so incredible. An extremely gifted photographer, and five passionate cooks.

Once again a huge ‘Thank You’ to Ramona :-).

I hope you enjoyed my trio of Cookies and here’s to a great new week!

🙂

22 thoughts on “Mocha Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookies with Candied Ginger…. and a Blog Award

  1. Congrats on your award! definitely well-deserved, you have so many amazing things here! And thank you so much for passing it along to us, it really made our day! oh my god these cookies – they sound AMAZING! so many amazing flavors going on here…i need to try these!!

  2. Oh my goodness..you made my day! It’s wonderful to be nominated for a lovely award! I appreciate it so much!! I took a such long vacation this time.. but I came back! 😉 See you in a few days with my new post! Thank you!

  3. Pingback: The Clay Boy Maker’s Chocolate-Ginger-Orange Cookies (And a Virtual Vegan Potluck Update) « anunrefinedvegan

  4. Pingback: Cali Wrap and an Award! « What About the Pie?

Go on! Let me know what you think.

