Potato and Cauliflower aka Aloo Gobi Parathas

I’m constantly griping about my weight and I don’t agree that it’s a woman thing.. to gripe about weight, that is. It’s a ‘Me’ thing.

So I love all kinds of fried food, potato chips and crisps included (especially the kind with extra salt and vinegar) and butter, though I have cut down on the last named item a bit.

Oh the sacrifices ones taste-buds have to make in the name of healthy eating! πŸ˜‰

I’m waiting for the weather to turn, and the rains to start and I’ll put on my walking shoes and start my 3km walks which will build up to 5kms and more and be happy. My bad knees don’t quite let me run, not on concrete or tarred roads anyway, and the walking track laid out in the park near my house is full of the ambling sort swapping daughter-in-law stories or tales about the stock market. Little has changed in the world… and then there’s the tattooed, bright blue streaked haired waif who breezes past in a brisk clippity-clop kind of walk, like she’s practising for the 50km at the London Olympic Games. And the heavy-set ma’s-in-law stop as do the paunchy men… everyone looks on, in envy… almost.

But back to food and I’ve decided to go Indian today and dish up some parathas (or stuffed Indian fried flat-bread). Parathas are of course right up there with my favourite things, but I don’t make them very often. I could bake them of course… but then, I like them the way they’re meant to be eaten, with a liberal dose of pure ghee (clarified butter) and with some yoghurt (or dahi as we call it) and some pickle (achar) on the side. I also love experimenting with different kinds of fillings in the parathas; potato (aloo), radish (mooli), pea (mutter), cauliflower (phool-gobi), paneer (cottage cheese) and even minced chicken or beef. This time I combined two of my favourites, potatoes and cauliflower or Aloo Gobi, combined them with onions, chillies, garlic and a bunch of spices, then roasted them on the tava or griddle pan before frying them in ghee.

Here’s what you need to make these parathas –

For the dough –

2 1/2 cups Whole wheat flour (+ extra while kneading and making the parathas)

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1/2 cup whipped yoghurt (dahi)

1/2 cup water (at room temperature)

For the filling –

1 1/2 cups grated cauliflower (raw)

1 large potato (boiled and roughly chopped)

1 medium onion – minced (I used a white onion)

5 – 6 cloves of garlic – minced

2 green chillies (chopped)

1 teaspoon salt

8 – 10 curry leaves – chopped

3 tablespoons chopped coriander

1/4 teaspoon turmeric powder

large pinch of chilli powder

1 teaspoon cumin powder

pinch of garam masala

1 teaspoon caraway seeds (shah-jeera)

pinch of dried bishops weed (ajwain) (optional)

2 tablespoons oil

a squeeze of lime juice

And lets not forget the ingredient that brings it all home

The ghee or clarified butter for frying. I generally use about 1/2 tablespoon ghee per paratha but you can reduce the amount if you like, or use a vegetable oil instead (sunflower oil would be ideal).

Start by boiling the potato and roughly chopping it while still hot. Then grate the cauliflower. Keep the potato and grated cauliflower aside while you sautΓ© the onion in vegetable oil into which you’ve added caraway seeds and bishops weed. Add the garlic, curry leaves and chillies and sweat them down before you put in the spices. Fry the spices on low (adding in the salt), till the oil separates and immediately add in the cauliflower. Allow it to cook for about a minute before adding the potatoes. Mash the potato up a bit and finish with the chopped fresh coriander and a squeeze of lime juice.

Take the veggie filling off the heat and leave it aside to cool while you get started on the dough.

To make the dough I’ve used yoghurt, vegetable oil, salt all mixed together, along with some water and the flour. Make a well in the centre of the flour, add the yoghurt and oil mix, and fold the flour into the yoghurt, adding a little water at a time until a dough forms. Knead the dough for about 10 – 12 minutes until soft and pliable. Cover the dough with a damp tea-towel and keep it aside for about 30 minutes.

Once the dough has rested, give it a quick knead and divide it into equal sized balls. I didn’t want a very thick paratha, preferring to keep the casing for the filling thin and crisp rather than thick, and I managed to get 11 parathas out the dough. And guess what… the filling too was just perfect for the parathas, not a teaspoon more.

Roll the dough ball in your hands and pat it down. You can either use a rolling pin to roll it out just a bit (about 3″ in diameter) or flatten out the dough ball using your fingers to create a little receptacle for the filling. Place the filling into the dough and pinch it shut, folding over to seal the opening shut. Flatten the filled dough-ball, dip it in flour to coat it well and roll it out with the rolling pin to the thickness you desire… I wouldn’t recommend exceeding 3 – 4mm. Heat the griddle pan till hot, then turn down the heat and place the paratha on the pan, roasting it on one side and then the other for about 2 minutes per side or till you begin to see light brown marks appearing on the parathas. You’ll need to do this a couple of times each side, turning then over to ensure that the parathas get evenly roasted.

Add the ghee, smearing it around, first on one side, then flip the paratha over and smear the ghee on the other side, raise the heat up a notch. Press the paratha down with the back of the spatula, and fry the parathas till they take on a lovely golden hue.

Serve the parathas piping hot with some plain yoghurt…

23 thoughts on “Potato and Cauliflower aka Aloo Gobi Parathas

  1. I’ve never heard or eaten parathas (I’m not even sure I know how to pronounce it) but It definitely looks like something I’d love
    And you don’t have to watch your diet to love it :):)

    • Winnie.. they’re pronounced “pa-ra-thas”… and I’m quite sure you’d love them.

      The only problem is if you do love them you can’t stop eating them. But who cares anyway right? Bother about the weight-gain another day πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh what joy, Averil, to see a paratha recipe…these look so simple delicious. And I like that you used yogurt in the dough, nice touch, I bet it was much softer to handle. The aloo gobi mixture looks yummy, I’ll add an extra serrano pepper at my end!

    • Thanks Peri πŸ™‚

      Serrano, eh? Woah… you do like it spicy πŸ˜‰ The chillies I put in were a really spicy desi variety too, and I kept the seeds in as well. But yeah if you like it hot… add on πŸ˜€

      • Ha ha, I actually do…my recipes on my blog have to be tasted by my youngest son who has a more normal spice palate:)

        Desi chilies out here are unpredictable, some batches are super spicy and the other are like capsicum/green pepper! So we stick with Serrano, which is more dependable:)

        Its parathas this weekend!

  3. Averil… these parathas look Ammmmmmazing!!! I can just imagine the lovely filling inside…. Mmmmmmm! Well done! Hope you don’t worry about your weight… just eat healthy 80% of the time and splurge 20% of the time. It will all work out then. πŸ™‚ At least that’s my philosophy. Have a wonderful weekend! ~ Ramona

    • Thanks Ramona… πŸ˜€ oh and I just love cribbing about my weight. Did so even when I was 10kgs lighter πŸ˜‰

      Hope you and your family have a wonderful weekend as well πŸ™‚

  4. Parathas!!! You put yogurt in the dough? I’m going to have to try that. I like how many spices are in your filling as well. I’m new to making parathas but I really like them when I do. I’ve yet to find the perfect recipe for me, maybe this is it!

    • Hey Susie, thank you! I hope you do try them out. The best part is that you can fill them with just about anything you like. Your favourite minced or mashed veggies or even minced meat.

  5. Hii ave , just returned from my holiday in himachal, and so disappointed with the parathas served in the restuarant’s , with barely there stuffing ….. was planning to get back and make my own parathas stuffed to brim with thin outer covering!!! nice touch, adding dahi to the dough… will try. love your step by step instructions and do continue with the indian dishes(veg ) now and then……..

    • Hi Sharmila… Even if the parathas were disappointing I’m sure the foothills of the HImalayas more than made up for it. And btw you should never eat at restaurants, always at the roadside dhabbas/truck stops. I’ve had the most delicious parathas at some of the really tiny, most innocuous looking places.

      And yes, I love my parathas stuffed to the brim too with a thin casing as you can see πŸ˜‰

  6. Noticed your blog title when I was Googling what is eaten with Aloo Gobi, as I’ve just made a version of it. Sometimes it’s a small world! Anyway, these stuffed parathas look and sound amazing. I’ve only ever had them by themselves, cooked in lots of ghee – delicious!

Go on! Let me know what you think.

